Friday, December 26, 2008

Christmas and re-capping 2008

I had all intentions of sending out a picture Christmas card this year. That didn't happen because we have to bundle up to go outside and neither of us wanted to bundle up to go outside for 10 minutes. At home, bundling up means putting on an extra shirt or pair of socks. Here, bundling up means thermals, boots, and an extra shirt. Sorry.

With that card, I thought about writing a newsletter. I hate the word newsletter, we're not that interesting.

So anyway, this year actually was sort of interesting for us. We were engaged March 1st and Kyle left for basic on March 18th. We went to San Antonio to see him graduate in early May. He immediately went to Wichita Falls, TX for tech school. We visited him for a week that summer and I realized that I hate Texas. It's a good thing because Kyle hates it, too so I know we won't be going there on our own free will.

He got back home the night of our rehearsal dinner. We got married September 20th and left for Alaska October 3rd.

It was a long drive. I don't recommend it. Yea, we went to other states but theere was nothing to see. Canada was cool, though. I do recommend Canada.

We got to Elemendorf in mid-October. After two short weeks in TLF, we got our house. There are no pictures of it because, honestly, it's nothing special. It's SMALL and bland. We haven't hung very many things up yet so it doesn't look like a home.

The cats got here mid-November. Olive will actually go outside but Jude has a fit if you even take him into the garage. They definetly make this place feel more homey.

We spent Thanksgiving and Christmas Eve at Dominic and Autumn's house with a few other people the guys know from tech school. Kyle spent Christmas day playing Xbox with Engal (a friend from tech school) while I was upstairs watching a Degrassi marathon. It was nice to just relax.

I apologize for the lack of pictures of us on our blog. We just don't take pictures of each other. Plus, Kyle is pretty awful at taking pictures. I leave you with pictures of goings-on Christmas morning...


This is the box that Kelly's gifts for us came in. The box from my mom is actually inside it. The cats play in it and Olive sleeps in there. I call it Olive's house because when she lays in it, there isn't room for Jude. He just sits outside it like, "pleeeeeaaaaase let me in."

It snowed like crazy Christmas morning and a ton of birds kept flying over the house. They loved to get up in the window and watch it all.


This was their first Christmas and they loved all the wrapping paper. Olive would get under it and jump out at Jude.
I hope all these cat pictures don't make me the crazy cat lady. I'm not ready to be that just yet.

1 comments:

megat said...

  I think your blog is really interesting ... especially this post :)