A lot of people have been asking me this recently. "When are you coming home?" I tell them, "Christmas." Then they get all, "But we miss you!" and make me feel guilty. I really do miss everyone and I really do want to see Kristen's baby but here are the reasons we aren't coming home until Christmas...
- My boss is about to pop. She is set to have her (first) baby any day and then she will obviously be going on maternity leave for a few months. Aside from her, there are only 5 of us that work in the coffee shop. If I were to take a week off to go home, I honestly don't know what would happen.
- I'm taking two summer classes and two fall classes at the University. If everything goes as planned, I'll graduate Spring 2010. I really want to get this degree done. I would have finished last fall but, you know, the wedding and moving and all got in the way.
- Kyle's family is coming for a few weeks in June and his grandparents are coming in August.
- It costs a small fortune to fly from AK to FL and back. If even just I were to go home this summer or something, Kyle would be the only one going home for Christmas. (Which may work because I don't know what we're going to do with the cats while we're both gone. Putting them in the kennel also costs a small fortune.) (I'M KIDDING AND I'M COMING HOME FOR CHRISTMAS. I'm leaving the winter wonderland that is Anchorage [ahahaha, I'm killing myself over here] for Florida.)
So there you have it. A full explanation as to why I'm not going to get to see the baby before Christmas. (Yes, I really want to see this baby.) But we really do miss and love everyone! I'd like to say we miss the weather but I went into our garage today and it was 70 degrees in there and I was like, "Good LORD! It's hot in here!" I'm telling you all, 30 degrees feels dang good.
0 comments:
Post a Comment